Get your free website from Spanglefish
Spanglefish Gold Status Expired 13/11/2023.

Strathnairn Community Council

The Community of Strathnairn is allowed to elect nine members of the Community to "express to the local authorities for this area, and to public authorities, the views of the community which it represents." Thus the Community Council provides a link between local people and the Highland Council and other public bodies. It has a legal right to be consulted on planning applications and objections to liquor licenses. Apart from these specific areas the Community Council is expected to act on matters that it believes concern the interests of the community, all in the general interests of Strathnairn. The Community Council is non-party and tries to involve a very broad cross section of the community.

Anyone wishing to raise any matter with the Community Council can contact one of the elected Community Councillors below.


Meetings of the Community Council take place in the Meeting Room of Farr Community Hall on the third Monday of the month at 7.30 pm. There is usually no meeting in August and December due to the holiday period. The meetings, with a note of the main business, are advertised on this website and on local notice boards about a week beforehand. Meetings are open to the public but any contribution will be at the discretion of the Chairperson.

The Agenda for the next meeting will be posted on this web site in the meeting's calendar entry about 1 week before the meeting along with the draft minute of the previous meeting. The Agenda and draft minute can also be obtained from the Secretary, limited copies will also be available at meetings.


Minutes of meetings from November 2011 to date.


The Scheme of Establishment for Community Councils includes a Constitution.


We try and keep the community advised of incidents such as road closures, power outages and the like through our Facebook page - by liking this page you will be automatically kept in touch.

Information on any last minute changes to the delivery times for the turbine parts can be found on Stratherrick and Foyers Facebook page.

Strathnairn Community Council

Members 2020-2025

  • Ian Hunt (Daviot)
  • Ian Maclean (Inverarnie)
  • Phil Macintosh (Farr) - Chair
  • James Murray (Farr)
  • Jonny Porteous (Croachy)
  • Tim Rose (Flichity)
  • Neil Spence (Dunlichity)


Click for Map
sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement